Road Resurfacing

The Department of Public Works has contracted Palmer Paving Corporation to resurface the following streets:

Pinewood Drive (Blueberry Road to Carolyn Drive)

Lee's Lane
Althea Lane
Northfield Drive
Berkshire Lane
Meadowlark Drive
Maple Road (Hazardville Road to Shaker Road)
Woodland Road
Intersection of Shaker Road/Maple Road

The work is scheduled to begin on March 28th, 2022. Project completion is expected to be early June.

Construction crews will be working on utility structures, sidewalk ramps, curbing, and storm drain culverts, etc. After that, the roads will be paved.

All roads will remain open, but at times may be subject to alternating one-way traffic. Police details will be deployed to assist with safety issues. All disturbances to private property will be restored.

Lawn Sprinklers: In an effort to reduce damages to lawn irrigation systems, please mark irrigation lines and sprinkler heads located at the edge of the roadway. Flags to mark irrigation lines and heads are available at the Department of Public Works. Should there be any damage to the marked irrigation, the Town’s contractor will make the necessary repairs. The contractor will make every effort to avoid your irrigation systems. Damage to unmarked irrigation systems will not be repaired by the Town.

Following pavement installation, the contractor will be placing topsoil and grass seed in disturbed areas. We ask that you assist with the process by providing water and additional grass seed (as deemed necessary) in order to accomplish successful lawn restorations.

In an effort to facilitate weekly refuse collection, residents are asked to have their refuse and recycling curbside by 7:00 a.m., especially during periods construction work is taking place on your street.

We will make every effort to notify residents of any substantial schedule changes.  Please check the Town Facebook page ( for current updates. Please report any problems or concerns by contacting the Engineering Department at (413) 567-3400.


Longmeadow Engineering Department